Late Sept Blooms

27 Sep


This week I got a new Panasonic LUMIX G 20mm f/1.7 lens for my Olympus Pen EPL3 camera. I’ve been having a lot of fun with this little camera, even though I don’t use all the capabilities yet. I got the 20mm lens mostly for taking indoor low light photos, but I figured I’d go waddle around in the garden briefly this morning with it, too.

Gruss an Coburg Rose

Bermuda’s Kathleen Rose

Very Happy Lambsear

Over the last couple years I’ve tried a lot of “reblooming” bearded irises. Three particular ones consistently rebloom for me; Total Recall, Breakers and Rosalie Figge. These are wonderful irises, you can shove them in anywhere as long as they have good enough drainage and sun! If I was crazier, I’d go guerrilla planting them in neighbors’ yards. 😉

Total Recall Iris

Rosalie Figge

Aimee Vibert Rose

Blooming Hens n Chicks (?)

Jude the Obscure Rose

Archduke Charles Rose

6 Responses to “Late Sept Blooms”

  1. RedneckRosarian September 30, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    Beautiful post.

  2. Geetha March 16, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Hi Aimee, I ‘see’ you sometimes when I lurk around gardenweb. 🙂 great pics!
    Archduc Charles in particular, takes my breath away. I’m about to pick my first OGR and I was wondering, is Archduc Charles fragrant? Very, slight? I’m getting conflicting info. Also how thorny? Thank you so much!

    • aimeemajor March 17, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

      Hi Geetha! Archduke Charles is a WONDERFUL rose. It’s definitely one of my favorites in my yard. It blooms almost all year for me and the color changing aspect of it is charming. If you like red/pink/brightpink colors, you’ll like it. I would say it has a nice sweet fruity scent almost. It definitely has a fragrance to me. I wouldn’t say slight but I don’t remember if it’s intensely fragrant or “moderately”. It’s not blooming right this instant. This post has some good shots of it:
      https://aimeesroses.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/front-yard-rose-blooms/
      It DOES have thorns. Some cans have little to no thorns and others have big thorns on them. Here’s a photo to show you if you can see ok:

      • Geetha April 5, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

        Thanks Aimee! I read your response a while ago but I just noticed I forgot to reply! 🙂 lovely pictures.

    • aimeemajor March 17, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

      PS, Geetha, other websites list Archduke as “strong fragrance” !

Leave a Reply

