Huntington Gardens Blooms, Late March

4 Apr


I haven’t had the chance to go to Huntington Gardens for months! I had just enough time to pop in for an hour or so before they closed this Saturday.

In the parking lot, sakura!

The everchanging garden before you get to the rose garden. I love how they have this area organized, all year it’s something different and beautiful. It’s very inspiring. I hope my garden can be half as beautiful someday!

Snapdragons with Delphiniums in the background

Is this not the biggest pile of pansies and geraniums you’ve ever seen! I wish I could get mine to do this. WHAT DO THEY FEED THEM?!

Closeups of the pansies

I took this shot to remind myself of how they placed these shaped boxwoods(?) under a flowering tree and right next to irises and roses… I could do this in my yard!

More adorable boxwoods(?)

Chinese Snowball

Closeup of Delphiniums

Crabapple

In the rose garden, the Austins and Hybrid Teas weren’t blooming all that much yet, but several of the older roses (teas, mostly) were blooming a lot!

Crestline Mulberry Rose

One of the teas, not sure which one. I thought it was labeled Safrano, but that’s not right…!

Stanford Tea?

I really should just suck it up and get Hermosa. It’s adorable.

Lady Hillingdon, this is a rose that I’m a bit bored by other times of the year (due to the simple flower shape), but on this foggy spring day it just GLOWED!

Love that new red growth.

Angel’s Camp Tea Rose

Lady Ann Kidwell

Just barely caught the wisteria in bloom! A few more days and I think we would have missed it!

a rogue rose blossom among the wisteria

The Japanese Garden is closed for renovation but right outside it there are several gorgeous flowering vines and trees.

NO idea what this varigated vine is but it’s adorable.

Sakura and Chinese Snowball

On the way to the Chinese Garden…

In the Chinese Garden

Chinese Magnolia

prunus glandulosa, flowering almond

They’d added a few new areas in the Chinese garden since the last time I’d been there including many more flowering ornamental fruit trees! Squee!

Also a new addition to the Chinese garden is a cluster of lilacs! OH MY!

In the Camellia garden,

I always love how camellia blossoms look on the ground.

Camellia Japonica Carter’s Sunburst

some type of iris(?) growing among the camellias.

6 Responses to “Huntington Gardens Blooms, Late March”

  1. Hoov April 5, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Beautiful photos, and thanks for the “tour”. Those pansies are astounding. I need to get back there, haven’t been for a while.

    • aimeemajor April 5, 2012 at 4:29 am #

      Thanks so much, Hoov! I’ve enjoyed your blog and photos for quite a while, so I appreciate it. I can’t stand how awesome those pansies are, mine never get even remotely that big. You could hide a dog in those!

  2. Anika April 5, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Some day I’ll manage a trip to Huntington in the spring…

    Thanks for sharing!

    • aimeemajor April 5, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      I hope you can! I’ll totally take you! It’s a tossup what part of spring is the prettiest though… maybe roses in full bloom? but right now is really pretty too.

  3. Renee April 10, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    Thanks, Aimee. Lovely photos. The shrub with the pink flowers and the variegated foliage is a weigela (sp?). I have never seen one in Southern California that looks like that, though! That’s more beautiful than the magazine photo I cut out years ago. Thank you. I think the iris is ‘Nada.’
    Renee

Leave a Reply

