Narcissus, Marguerite and William Shakespeare 2000

10 Feb

Testing out my new 45 mm f1.8 lens this morning for grins. Here’s what’s blooming right now. I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to do any rose transplants or maintenance or weeding… ah… I hope I can soon!


some family member of “Argyranthemum frutescens”?

William Shakespeare 2000

Erlicheer narcissus

5 Responses to “Narcissus, Marguerite and William Shakespeare 2000”

  1. Anika February 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    I wish you were close by so I could “trade” with you and test out your 45mm lens (I’d let you try my 20mm f/1.7).

    NICE! How do you like it? Is it quiet? My only complaint about the Lumix 20mm is that it’s an audibly noisey lens…so not great for video. Superb images though.

    Oh, lovely flowers, ofc 😀

    • aimeemajor February 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      that would be really fun! I really wish we could! I’m not sure how I like it yet. You have to stand farther back for macro shots, which is fine, but I’m not sure if it’s any better for flower shots than my kit lens. what I really got it for was portrait stuff, though, and it seems to be pretty decent for getting a waist up portrait with blurry background. Not so much full body, so I’m not sure about that! I need to play more. 🙂

      Maybe I’ll email you some of my other test shots from this morning if you like? what email do you prefer right now?

      • Anika February 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

        My usual email 😀 If you can’t find it just FB msg me and I’ll get back with you.

        Would *love* to see your images!

        The 45mm was my “runner-up” and I’m still thinking about it even though I now have a slew of manual focus lenses for ptrts and video (which on top of not being used to using prime is a REAL adjustment going to manual focus, but I’m having fun, which is the whole point of photography, really, right?).

        With the 20mm you can get quite close to your subject…just under 8 inches. I got right up in this Crocus’s face last week (http://www.flickr.com/photos/gothiclibrarian/6802206435/in/photostream) and am super excited for my bulbs to be up like yours are. You lucky Californians!

        I actually haven’t even used the kit lens once yet…do you like it a lot? I feel silly not having used it…

    • aimeemajor February 10, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      is 20 mm like a pancake sort of? How is it for people shots? Sent you an email. :3

Leave a Reply

