Maman Cochet Cl.

22 Sep

So I think Maman Cochet Cl. heard I was talking bad about her and decided to bloom.

I got her 5/10 as a baby band and put her in a 3 gallon pot… she quickly shot up two big canes… but I missed the blooms and then after that she never bloomed or grew more, so I haven’t really had a chance to see how nice she can be. (I think she needs to get out of this pot and into the ground so she can grow more…) I think these blooms I caught this morning are really quite gorgeous.

My plan thanks to some advice on gardensweb is to rip out my remaining normal wisteria (which would grow to be a pain, in particular when I have a neighbor who would likely bitch about it climbing over the wall and into their yard…) so the wisteria spots would give a nice big spot for Maman Cochet Cl (and probably 1 more large rose… perhaps I’ll put Arcadia Louisiana Tea there… even though she’s not a climber…)

2 Responses to “Maman Cochet Cl.”

  1. Sherry September 22, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Hey, Aimee, you mentioned your neighbor which made me think about how Cl MC throws canes every which way. Hopefully, you’ll be able to reach what’s growing toward your neighbor’s side. MC doesn’t play, you know.Once they get up high like a tree canopy hopefully your neighbor won’t mind so much, but it will still take maintenance from the other side unless you let them do it – which might not be pretty. I’ve only found Cl MC to be sensitive to being bent hard (then the cane dies), but chopping hasn’t seemed to bother her since she reached a couple of years old.

    • aimeemajor September 22, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      I don’t have a neighbor now but eventually would… so… not sure what to do! But I guess I could always chop off offending canes like you said…?

Leave a Reply

