State of the Garden

23 Aug

It’s been a very busy few months and I haven’t had much time to take stock of my garden. We’re still in the hottest part of the summer, but in a while things will start cooling off and I can do some work in the garden to make it better for next year.

But I’m not sure what to do to make it better. It definitely needs some work because I’ve had a fair amount of plant failure this year.

HELP.

I’m fighting against clay alkaline soil which is hard for me to dig in and has poor drainage. I’m zone 9-10, SW zone 18. Inland southern california. This garden was started from scratch in Dec 2009, to give you some idea. I’ve learned a lot since then, but I’m still floundering.

I’m thinking that I need to try to further amend the beds in areas where there are not plants… but with WHAT? And then after I do that, I probably need to remulch everything.

And I probably need to re-evaluate how much water my plants are getting. Right now the beds get about 20 min once a week. Is that too little?

THINGS THAT ARE HAPPY:

THINGS THAT ARE FAILING:

  • General Penstemons – they do fine in the summer and then get upset/rot? in winter.
  • crocosmia – came up, haven’t bloomed and are turning brown. Don’t know why.
  • Hydrangeas – probably getting too much sun
  • Crape Myrtle – hasn’t bloomed, hasn’t grown (is it just sending down roots…? cause my neighbors’ same age tree blooms a lot… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

General photos of the BACK YARD:
Showing the rose pot ghetto with a happy La France cl rose behind it and various irises. To the right of La France Cl is Larry Daniels rose, to the right of that is Sombrieul rose, and to the right of that is Alchemist rose. All seem to be doing fine. There some Agapanthus and dianthus in front.

CU on that area, self-seeded yarrow with some dianthus and santa barbara daisy. They’re covering up some daffodil bulbs. In the back are irises and La France Cl and Larry Daniels and Tipsy Imperial Concubine roses.

Another view of same area

In the corner, a very happy James Galway cl rose and Eden cl rose. The support stick in the middle is supporting my non-growing/non-flowering Crape Myrtle. Is something wrong with it? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The support stick on the right is my Lady Banks yellow rose.

CU on same area

CU on same area

Lady Banks rose yellow

Weeping “snowfountain” cherry in the middle of the lawn seems to be doing fine. In the back corner there, though, my normal flowering cherry (no idea what it is due to stupid landscapers…) has died completely. No idea why it died. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
Wall on the right is two large wisteria and two smaller blue moon (less vigorous reblooming) wisteria. I’ll probably pull out one or both of the larger wisteria eventually after the blue moons get bigger. None of the wisteria have bloomed but I think that might be normal (ie they are establishing themselves)
on the fence to the left there are several roses and clematis that are setting themselves up.

CU of some of the dianthus, sages, salvias and lambsears

CU on failing crocosmia (back) and “fine for now” penstemons which will probably again rot this winter. Santa barbara daisies in the front.

Better view of the A/C area. Mme Berard, which probably will be moved to the arbor which isn’t up yet (on the left) and Lavender Lassie rose on the right. Both are really happy. The two dwarf hydrangea Pia, however, are not. I think maybe they just can’t take that much full sun.

4 Responses to “State of the Garden”

  1. Anika August 24, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I think I see some daylilies doing well too!

    I’m worried a lot I planted this year are too tender…if I have some that need moved to a warmer climate in a couple years, can I assume you’ll take ’em?

  2. aimeemajor August 24, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    hahah of course!

    The daylilies have bloomed some, have not died… so I guess I count that a success! lol!

  3. Rosefolly August 31, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Your purple plant might be caryopteris.

Leave a Reply

