Alchemist, Mme Joseph Bonnaire, Eden, Queen of Sweden

6 May

Roses keep blooming despite me having almost no time to see them and the temperatures being strangely hot this week (did get a few crispies, but that’s ok.)  They do give me a ton of joy when I have time, though. Last night I was able to come home from work in time to weed for a while and deadhead before it got too dark. So relaxing!

I should have some time on Sunday to go to the nursery FINALLY. I haven’t been since… I can’t remember when! Hopefully it’s still not too late to plant a couple things.

Hope I have time to go to Descanso Gardens and Huntington Gardens soon… I wonder if they are in full bloom? I hope I haven’t missed it!

Alchemist

Madame Joseph Bonnaire

Madame Joseph Bonnaire

Eden cl.

Queen of Sweden

Heavenly Pink covered in buds

6 Responses to “Alchemist, Mme Joseph Bonnaire, Eden, Queen of Sweden”

  1. nickelpin May 6, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    The Queen of Sweden looks so lovely and luscious, I think about taking a bite out of it… CHOMP!

  2. Anika May 6, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Yummy! My roses are still nearly a month away ::pouts::

    • Christina May 8, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Aimee, Your ‘Madame Joseph Bonnaire’ is truly lovely. I am not familiar with this rose and will look her up on HMF. I am happy to see that you grow Eden Climbing as well. My two plants of this rose are three years old now and they have really come into their own this spring. ‘Reine des Violettes’ is another rose that we both grow. I was not aware that this rose has problems with alkaline soil. Mine is just planted into the ground and I am wondering if I should lower the soil PH by using soil sulfur as a preventive measure?
      Christina

    • aimeemajor May 8, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      well, when mine are pouting in summer you can show me yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

