OH, LA FRANCE.

3 Apr

There are buds popping up on my roses all over the yard! Even the very wimpy-last-year Reine Des Violettes has a bud on it. (So exciting!) Last year based on some advice on gardensweb, I pinched off most of the buds on my roses since it was their first year. But THIS YEAR. Oh, no. There will be no pinched buds. Only millions and millions of roses. I think the pinching has made my anticipation even greater!

I’d been so busy this week that I didn’t even notice the bud progressing on La France cl. and now there’s a big fat bloom! It’s funny to me that at first, I thought La France was a bit boring from the photos I saw of her online. Perhaps a little too typical Hybrid Tea? (Well, she is one of the very first Hybrid Teas…)

I don’t remember exactly why I decided to buy her, (though it was probably this photo from Matt’s North Texas Rose Garden).  But from her first bloom she began to grow on me and now I adore her. Mine started as a gallon from Rogue Valley Roses planted on 5/10… but what a huge gallon! Most of that behind the bloom is her, too. She grew very fast and there are a ton of buds on her now. I can’t wait to see a cane covered in these blooms.

La France

Also pretty excited about my first ever freesias blooming. I planted them last year and thought for sure that they would rot and not bloom, but they seem to be fine! There are pink and white ones popping up in various spots.

Freesia

Freesia

Also in the NOT-DEAD catagory is my Descanso Lilac. I was a little worried since lilacs are supposed to be finicky in my mild-winter area, even the Descanso hybrid ones which are more tolerant of that. The lady at the nursery was very specific about how I should plant and water it (or not water it)… and I did try when planting it… but I didn’t really pay attention to not-watering-it-at-certain-times like I probably should have. Hence my extra worry. But, it’s leafing out. Will we see lilac flowers…? WILL WE?

Lilac Leaf

Lilac Leaf

narcissus hawera

narcissus hawera

Grandmother's Irises

Grandmother's Irises

6 Responses to “OH, LA FRANCE.”

  1. Sherry Roma April 3, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    Well, Aimee, you deserve a million roses this year after seeing none last year. My goodness, La France is a beauty and so is the narcissus and the iris. It’s going to be a good year for you.

    • aimeemajor April 3, 2011 at 1:19 am #

      ah well, I did cheat some and let some bloom, but now I don’t have to pinch any! Thanks Sherry! 🙂

  2. Kerin April 4, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Hi Aimee,
    Very pretty!!! Say, what did the folks at Descanso say about lilac care???

    We have quite a few in Wrightwood (the regular cold-loving kind). I know that you’re supposed to trim them *after* they bloom as the blooms for next year start their ‘birthing process’ after that.

    I’ve also seen that you shouldn’t use drip, but we do, it is so dry that they start to droop, and if I use a hose, it runs off since we’re not flat.

    Kerin

    • aimeemajor April 4, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      I actually didn’t get a chance to ask them much! I bought this one at the nursery and she was saying that you shouldn’t water them pretty much AT ALL in the winter when their leaves fall off. And also, you should plant them on a very well draining mound. Ie, basically, they don’t like being shoved into a garden where they are watered like all the other plants. I put mine on the side of my yard thinking if I had to, I could reduce that particular sprinkler.

      I wonder when they will be blooming at Descanso? I want to see them!

      • Christina Schwarz April 4, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

        Aimee, your are really writing a great garden blog!
        I love your La France bloom! The freesia is very cute and I bet it smells heavenly. The delicate Narcissus hawera is really appealing to me. I envy you your irises. For some wired reason they just don’t want to grow well in my garden, whereas for other people gardening close by they are very easy to grow. Go figure…
        Christina

      • aimeemajor April 4, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

        hawera is ADORABLE. It’s a mini daff, you should try it! 🙂 Maybe you should ask your friends gardening close, maybe there’s a planting or soil difference? (irises)

Leave a Reply

