Happy and Sad Roses, Sedum and Crocosmia

26 Mar

Alchemist, one of my only once-blooming roses besides Lady Banks, has it’s first bud! I thought the blooms on Alchemist (which I saw online and at Descanso Gardens in person) were so gorgeous that I had to get it even though there are so many reblooming choices for my zone. Last year, I got it as a 2 gallon and it grew a lot quite fast, but no blooms yet… so I’m so excited to see it this year!

Also there are little baby Crocosmia coming up all over. You can see them coming up behind the (coming-back from death) sedum, (above) too. I have this PLAN to have a drift of them so that it’s like a mass of color. I got inspired by the big drifts of color in Bloom’s Best book.  These crocosmia were another gift from a sweet lady online. Sure, there are bad things on the internet, but there are so many nice people, too! I find it very encouraging.

On a down note, though, it looks like one of my William Shakespeare 2000s is well and truly dead.  Both Williams had trouble this year and were the least successful of the David Austin roses I put in in late 2009. They didn’t grow much if any at all… and then late in the year they had very very small leaves and just looked kinda sad. And then after all the rain and cold this winter (we actually had a very tiny amount of snow) this one particular William just seems to be totally dead. I’ll leave it for a bit, but clipping the branches just found more brown (no green). Some people on gardensweb said that they had some trouble getting William established, too… but it does make me wonder with so many other roses that were successful just a few feet away, what Williams’ problem was/is. I’m not all that sad about it. I still have some roses in the pot ghetto that would be more than happy to take his place.

Dead William

Some happier flowers:

Madame Alfred Carriere

Narcissus - Aspasia

4 Responses to “Happy and Sad Roses, Sedum and Crocosmia”

  1. Sherry Roma March 27, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Aimee, so glad that some things are coming back from ‘death’. That book looks wonderful. I recommended it to my sister (thank you very much), but I have no room for anymore plants – sad to say. Too bad about WS2000. Maybe he’ll surprise you and live, but if you have better ones waiting, then his departure is OK, too.

    • aimeemajor March 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      I’m still in the process of planting and killing things to see what works well here, so I still kindof have some space, but I did probably get a little overzealous in my first few months. 🙂 🙂
      But I actually transplanted a bunch of plants after reading Bloom’s Best, because I really liked his style of grouping large numbers of plants together all of one color/type. Before I’d kinda just been scattering them around, which I still will do, but I liked the large overlapping clouds of color in his book better than what I’d been doing.

  2. Masha March 28, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    I am sorry about your WS2000! It is one of my favorite roses… I hope you don’t give up on it and try again. The bud on Alchemyst is exciting, I am looking forward to pictures of it opening.

    • aimeemajor March 28, 2011 at 2:33 am #

      It’s ok! I still have one that hasn’t died, so we’ll see how it goes. Thanks, Masha!

Leave a Reply

