Impatient for Daylilies

25 Mar


I planted a couple daylilies to “try them out” late last August, here’s what they look like today. I’m pretty sure I didn’t plant them poorly, but… they’re SO SMALL. When will they get big and have flowers? Are these small for online-bought daylilies…? or is this  normal? I know the first time I saw a baby rose band I was kinda underwhelmed, but now I know better.  Is this the case with daylilies, too?

I’m obsessing over photos of daylilies online lately, too, and considering buying some more.  There are some with “diamond dust” (sparkles on the petals that don’t really show up in photos) and some with a sparkly gold or silver edge around the petal (gilding…?)  And then some are fully double truffly confections.

Where I will find spots for them all, is another matter, but I can just shove them inbetween the roses, right? (right?) 😉 (Please forgive me using a couple googled images that are not my own.)

By the way, this is how I go out and check on the plants in the morning before work. I’m sure I’m not the only crazy person who does this.

10 Responses to “Impatient for Daylilies”

  1. Sherry Roma March 26, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    I love daylilies, too, Aimee. It looks like you got single fans (unless you divided them). The nursery I ordered from sold double fans, but when they came, most were triples. I think maybe because my order was a large one, they included the third as a bonus, but I’m not sure. I divided all of mine into singles so I’d have more plants. They all bloomed the next spring after being planted during the fall & winter. So I’m pretty sure yours will be alright. The instructions I got said to make a cone of soil in the hole and lay the roots over the cone. I put milorganite, alfalfa and mycorrhizae in the hole. Your baby roses are looking good.

    • aimeemajor March 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      they just look so small, sherry! I planted them with some type of fertilizer as recommended by the nursery I ordered from (I don’t remember)… but I can’t imagine them blooming this spring. All the irises are getting huge and putting out bloom stalks, etc… so I’m like… daylilies, did I fail you?
      Some folks on gw were recommending I fertilize them again, which I think I will because aren’t I supposed to fertilize my roses sometime before spring?

  2. gothiclibrarian March 27, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Daylilies are super resilient! Like Sherry, I separated all my clumps planted in 2010 into single fans when planting.

    Different daylilies bloom at different times too…I know that the ones that came with our house that bloomed later in the summer were smaller in early spring.

    • aimeemajor March 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      were they as small as this, Anika? 🙂

      • gothiclibrarian March 29, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

        I think so…it was our 1st year with them in 2010 and we were sooooo busy I didn’t get any early season pix.

        BTW, I just saw that an Indiana daylily grower is having their winter sale: http://www.smokeysdaylilygardens.com/special.php

        I just ordered 25 Siloam Double Classic (diamond dusted) from them (good reviews on Garden Watchdog, but this is my 1st time ordering). They’re also on eBay.

        I love daylilies but must admit I’m hesitant to throw down the $ for the newer/fancier varieties.

      • aimeemajor March 29, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

        oh, I just can’t justify getting the new fancy ones when I can get really pretty ones for $5 a piece. I’m ok with that. I understand if Daylilies are like YOUR BIG THING, you know, but,… they’re not the biggest part of my garden, while I’ll definitely look forward to it.

        I may regret it later, but I got a bunch of One of Each type things, VIRGINIA FRANKLIN MILLER (double), Scatterbrain )double), Dark Wonder (double), Silent Musings, Jedi Dot Pierce. I’ll probably get a couple more. If one does really well maybe I’ll buy another the next year. I guess I’m too excited about all these colors to pic one unifying color like I probably should. haha. 😀

      • aimeemajor March 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

        ps, thanks for the link! I’ll check it out! 😀

      • gothiclibrarian March 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

        I trudged out in the cold (seriously, it’s to snow tonight, ugh) and got some pix of my daylilies as of today: http://gothiclibrarian.net/2011/03/more-sproutlings/ My tallest is only about 4 inches here in zone 5b.

        I think it’ll just take a few years for things to establish…these were all new in 2010 and I separated all fans into singles. I just hope they do bloom this year, but I’d not be surprised if not.

  3. hoover boo March 28, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    What were the names? Some varieties are very small, some are huge. There’s a lot of variation in size of plants, not just flowers. They also take a while to establish themselves, sometimes a year or more, (again depends on the variety) and don’t grow much above ground while they do.

    • aimeemajor March 28, 2011 at 6:03 am #

      Hi! I have Diamonds and Pearls and Missouri Memories I think?

Leave a Reply

